Dates of official recognition of the Sighthounds by the Fédération Cynologique Internationale

According to the FCI's website

"The Fédération Cynologique Internationale was created on May 22nd, 1911 with the aim to promote and protect cynology and purebred dogs by any means it considers necessary.

The founding nations of the FCI are as follows:

  • Germany (Kartell für das Deutsche Hundewesen and Die Delegierten-Commission)
  • Austria (Osterreichischer Kynologenverband)
  • Belgium (Société Royale Saint-Hubert)
  • France (Société Centrale Canine de France )
  • Netherlands (Raad van Beheer op Kynologisch Gebied in Nederland)

The Federation disappeared due to the first World War and in 1921, the Société Centrale Canine de France and the Société Royale Saint-Hubert re-created it.
The new articles of association were adopted on April 10th, 1921 and on March 5th, 1968, the FCI got the legal personality by decree."

The Sloughi is the oldest Sighthound breed within the FCI system, as it was the first Sighthound breed to be officially recognized by the FCI on  November 8 1934
Followed 21 years later by the first of the other Sighthounds.

Greyhound April 23 1955,
Irish Wolfhound April 26 1955
Deerhound April 29 1955
Whippet April 27 1955
Borzoi January 13 1956
Italian Greyhound October 22 1956
Afghan Hound December 12 1961
Magyar Agar March 29 1963,
Saluki April 8 1966
Galgo espanol August 10 1971
Azawakh June 6 1980
Chart Polski March 1 2001

 Furthermore, a thorough comparison with the remaining 343 breeds recognized by the FCI reveals that the Sloughi is also the FIRST BREED officially recognized by the FCI, followed in 1936 by the American Staffordshire Terrier. World War II prevented then new recognitions, and it was not until 1945 that another breed, the Black and Tan Coohound was officially recognized. Further breed recognitions resumed 9 years later in 1954, then in 1955, and following years.

|  Copyright: Copyright 2008-2012, all rights of all pages under this chapter reserved to Dominique de Caprona. |